Wolverhampton Wanderers will go another year without a major trophy, although that is not a major concern for most fans, it is something that they would like to achieve under Nuno Espirito Santo.

The only major silverware they have won during Nuno’s tenure was the English Football League Championship title in 2018 with an impressive 99 points.

Photo by Chloe Knott – Danehouse/Getty Images

Nuno’s following two seasons have seen good cup runs for the old gold and black. A heart-breaking semi-final exit at Wembley to Watford in 2019 was followed by a deserved defeat to Sevilla in the quarter final of the Europa League.

Here is a look at Wolves’ trophy cabinet to date:

First Division Champions | 1953/54, 1957/58, 1958/59

It is now over 60 years since Wolves won a first division title, all of which were under the great Stan Cullis sides in the 1950s. Led by the legendary club and England captain, Billy Wright, Wolves were one of the biggest forces in English football through this period.

Championship/Second Division Champions | 1931/32, 1976/77, 2008/09, 2017/18

Four-time second-tier champions, they have been promoted as Championship winners the last two times they have gone up from the division albeit with very different squads, with a core of British and Irish players under Mick McCarthy in 2009 compared to Nuno’s Portuguese wonderkids three years ago.

League One/Third Division Champions | 1923/24*, 1988/89, 2013/14

In 2014, Wolves broke the record for the most amount of points amassed in the third tier of English football, 104. Under the guidance of former boss, Kenny Jackett, Wolves steamrolled through the division just as they did in 1989 with iconic striker, Steve Bull, leading the line.

League Two/Fourth Division Champions | 1987/88

The club was at rock bottom when they entered the fourth tier and flirted with dropping out of the English Football League altogether. Thankfully, again spearheaded by Steve Bull who scored an astonishing 52 goals across all competitions it sparked Wolves’ revival.

FA Cup Winners | 1892/93, 1907/08, 1948/49, 1959/60

Wolves tasted their first bit of silverware at the back-end of the 19th century securing a 1-0 win against Everton with their captain, Harry Allen, scoring then going on to lift the trophy.

League Cup Winners | 1973/74, 1979/80

Wolves won the trophy twice in quite a successful decade for the club. Although there were no league titles the duo of Derek Dougan and John Richards were instrumental to Wolves winning what is now known as the Carabao cup.

Football League Trophy Winners | 1987/88

Wolves won the fourth tier double in 1988. Back then, this trophy was known as the Sherpa Van Trophy final and the Wanderers’ beat Burnley in front of 80,000 fans at Wembley with Andy Mutch and Robbie Dennison scoring. Now known as the EFL Cup, Wolves have not participated since 2013.

FA Charity Shield Winners | 1954/55, 1959/60

Texaco Cup Winners | 1970/71

Related Topics