Wolverhampton Wanderers Trophy History - Molineux News

Trophy History

Wolverhampton Wanderers’ trophy history dates as far back as 1893 with the club among the oldest football teams in England. But Wolves have now not won any major titles since the 1979/80 season.

The West Midlands natives produced the most prosperous period in their trophy history so far in the 1950s. Wolves won three top-flight titles and also ended the decade by lifting the club’s most recent FA Cup. They have since only added English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) titles for major honours.

Wolverhampton Wanderers have won three top-flight trophies

Photo by R. Viner/Express/Getty Images

Stan Cullis cemented his status as a Wolves legend during a decorated tenure as the club’s manager from 1948 to 1964. His spell at the Molineux helm also returned the club’s sole top-flight trophies to date. He took the club to the top of the English footballing pyramid three times in the First Division.

Wolves’ top-flight trophies:

1953/54 (English Football League, First Division)



Wolves are also the most successful of the five clubs to boast trophies in all four English professional leagues. They were even the first team to triumph in each of the four divisions with Wolves’ trophy history featuring four second-tier titles, three third-tier crowns and one fourth-tier trophy to date.

Wolves’ second-tier trophies:

Photo by James Baylis – AMA/Getty Images

1931/32 (English Football League, Second Division)


2008/09 (English Football League, Championship)


Wolves’ third-tier trophies:

1923/24 (English Football League, Third Division North)

1988/89 (English Football League, Third Division)

2013/14 (English Football League, League One)

Wolves’ fourth-tier trophies:

1987/88 (English Football League, Fourth Division)

The Molineux natives have lifted the FA Cup four times

Photo by Douglas Miller/Keystone/Getty Images

The FA Cup is the oldest national football competition in the world with its debut tournament held in 1871/72. Wolves would reach their first final in the competition come the 1888/89 season. The club then secured their first of four trophies in Wolves’ history by edging Everton in the final in 1892/93.

Wolves’ FA Cup trophies:

1892/93 (beat Everton 1-0 in the final)

1907/08 (beat Newcastle United 3-1 in the final)

1948/49 (beat Leicester City 3-1 in the final)

1959/60 (beat Blackburn Rovers 3-0 in the final)

Wolverhampton Wanderers have won the EFL Cup twice

Photo by Blackbrow/Daily Express/Hulton Archive/Getty Images

The 1950s may have been the heyday in Wolves’ trophy history but the 1970s marked a prosperous period for the Molineux natives. As well as securing the second-tier title in the 1976/77 season, the decade returned the West Midlands natives’ sole EFL Cup titles to date and their last major trophy.

Wolves’ EFL Cup trophies:

1973/74 (beat Manchester City 2-1 in the final)

1979/80 (beat Nottingham Forest 1-0 in the final)

The Molineux club have won the Community Shield four times

Wolves have contested the traditional curtain-raiser for the English season on five occasions and left with the trophy four times. But only once have the West Midlands natives taken the trophy outright in the club’s history. Three of Wolves’ four Charity Shield/Community Shield titles were actually shared.

Wolves’ Charity Shield/Community Shield trophies:

1949* (shared, drew 1-1 with Portsmouth)

1954* (shared, drew 4-4 with West Bromwich Albion)

1959 (beat Nottingham Forest 3-1)

1960* (shared, drew 2-2 with Burnley)

Wolverhampton Wanderers have won the EFL Trophy once

Wolves leaving the third-tier in their history in 2013/14 has ensured they have not competed in the EFL Trophy since. The club had previously won the competition only for third and fourth-tier teams once. Wolves lifted the trophy in 1987/88 as part of a domestic double with their sole fourth-tier title yet.

Wolves’ Football League Trophy titles:

1987/88 (beat Burnley 2-0 in the final)

Wolverhampton Wanderers have won three further titles

As well as the EFL Trophy, league honours and major titles in Wolves’ trophy history to date, the club has also lifted three other titles. Wolves secured the 1941/42 edition of the Football League’s FA Cup equivalent during World War II. That year’s cup was also the only edition to have a two-legged final.

Wolves also won the 1967 edition of the USA Cup, which saw teams imported in from European and South Asian countries. The club represented Los Angeles in an exhibition tournament in the USA and Canada. While Wolves later won the Texaco Cup, which featured British teams not playing in Europe.

Wolves’ other trophies:

1941/42 Football League War Cup (beat Sunderland 6-3 on aggregate in the final)

1967 USA Cup (beat Aberdeen 6-5 in golden goal extra time in the final)

1970/71 Texaco Cup (beat Hearts 3-2 on aggregate in the final)