Kieran Trippier reacts to Raul Jimenez penalty incident in Newcastle vs Wolves - Molineux News
Manchester City v Newcastle United - Premier League


Kieran Trippier reacts to Raul Jimenez penalty incident in Newcastle vs Wolves

Kieran Trippier says Raul Jimenez went down ‘too easy’ under the challenge by Nick Pope in Sunday’s game between Newcastle United and Wolves.

Wanderers are licking their wounds today, after coming up short at St. James’ Park.

Photo by Michael Regan/Getty Images

Wolves lost the game 2-1. Miguel Almiron scored late on for the hosts after Hwang Hee-chan had come off the bench to equalise.

Alexander Isak had opened the scoring for Newcastle.

But before that goal, there was a very controversial incident.

Newcastle goalkeeper Pope brought Jimenez down after a heavy touch invited the striker to press.

Replays showed there was clear contact, but referee Andy Madley waved away the claim.

He was too far away to see the incident. But you would have thought VAR might have come to Wolves’ rescue.

In the end, it actually came to Newcastle’s rescue, with Madley’s on-field decision being upheld.

Photo by Stu Forster – NUFC/Newcastle United via Getty Images

Sky Sports pundits Jamie Redknapp, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink and Jamie Carragher all thought it was a penalty.

Newcastle legend Alan Shearer also felt Newcastle got away with one.

But Newcastle captain Trippier believes Jimenez actually went down softly.

He said on Premier League productions when asked about the incident by Shearer (via MOVISTARS): “To be honest I was on the other side. I spoke to Popey and he said it spun away from him, a few of the lads said he (Jimenez) went down too easily.

“In the moment you are a bit nervous. But you’re always delighted when the referee doesn’t given the decision.”

He went on to brand it ‘a good decision in the end’.

Kieran Trippier knows deep down Newcastle got away with one against Wolves

It would be nice to hear Trippier just be honest about the decision, since Newcastle did take the points in the end. There would be no harm for him to call it without bias, and he’d probably gain more respect.

He surely cannot believe Pope’s challenge should not have warranted a penalty kick.

If it was the other way round, you can bet everything he would be screaming for a spot-kick.

Photo by Richard Callis/MB Media/Getty Images

Pope very clear body-checked Jimenez. Granted, the fall from the Mexican was not the most natural, but he was still fouled and denied a goalscoring opportunity.

It should have been a penalty and red card and the game and end result could have ultimately been entirely different.